Reaching Sunward

Turning Lemons into Lemonade

A newer translation of the Lord’s Prayer

on February 22, 2007

There’s a little book called The Ancient Aramaic Prayer of Jesus which gives a more literal translation of the Lord’s Prayer from Aramaic to English. There are some significant differences between the translation and what is traditionally taught as the Lord’s prayer. You may find this translation (below) inspiring in keeping spritual harmony and balance.

prayer.jpg

Our Father and our Mother, who is everywhere and in everything,

Your name is holy.

Let your Kingdom and counsel come into my heart and guide me rightly,

And help me to remember to seek your Kingdom above all other things.

Let your will be done in my life and in the lives of everyone, and let me attune myself to your voice.

Give us what we need each day, in body, spirit, mind and heart.

Forgive me for my offenses, and help me forgive others and be free from anger and resentment.

Do not let me enter into temptation or materialism, and keep me separate from harm and evil.

Yours is the Kingdom, power, guidance and song throughout all the ages.

In faith I believe that you will bless me with these things, and thank you for your love.

Amen.

Leave a Reply

